Hoang Phan wins ABC Young Performer of the Year

The Young Performer of the Year for 2013 is Melbourne pianist Hoang Pham. The Tait Memorial Trust are delighted that Tait Awardees, Hoang and Stefan did so well in this prestigious competition. Congratulations to you both.

Stefan Cassomenos, Andrew Kawai and Hoang Pham all performed concertos in tonight’s grand final from the Melbourne Town Hall, accompanied by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.


For the concerto round Hoang performed Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No 1.

“I love Tchaikovsky and throughout competition I chose music I love,” he said shortly after performing.

“It’s always a thrill to play in with a symphony orchestra, especially in your home town.”

Hoang says he suffers from “extreme nerves” before performing but he accepts that it’s part of the job.

“It’s gotten easier over the years but not that much easier,” he laughs.

In his acceptance speech Hoang recounted first entering YPA in 2004 and not making the first round. His teacher told him that “time tells the truth about each musician,” and so he persisted.

He also thanked his girlfriend, former YPA winner and member of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Ji Won Kim.

Pianist Stefan Cassomenos performed Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No 3.

“I feel very much at home playing concertos with orchestras,” he said after his performance.

“It’s really great music, the way it’s written for orchestra and piano,” says Stefan. “Not all concertos are like that,” he laughs, continuing to explain. “Some are written for piano as the central feature with the orchestra in the background.”

Catch up on any performances you missed via the competitor bio pages

Young Performers Awards 2013 Prizes

Best Recital Prize ($5000) – Andrew Kawai

Best Chamber Music Performance Prize ($5000) – Hoang Pham.

Best Performance of an Australian Work Prize ($5000) – Grace Clifford

Concerto Finalist Prize ($7500) – Andrew Kawai, Stefan Cassomenos

Young Performer of the Year ($25k) goes to Hoang Pham

Pianist Hoang Pham, Young Performer of the Year, 2013. Photo by Lucas Dawson

Written by ABC Classic FM