Awards 2020

Statement issued April 2020

Sadly, due to the prevailing uncertainty in the dance school* and tertiary education sectors, plus the added complication of potential student international travel restrictions as a result of U.K. and Australian/New Zealand Government policies regarding the COVID19 pandemic, the Tait has made the decision to hold over our awards for new applicants for the 2020/21 academic year.

Those applicants with ongoing courses, and are existing Tait Awardees, are still being considered with the caveat that the award will only be made on the resumption of the course as noted in your application. This has been an incredibly difficult decision to make but in the current circumstances we believe this was the only option open to us.

We thank all those who have expressed an interest in applying, and we hope to be able to return to our usual award application process in 2021. We will save your applications for next year in case you wish to apply again in 2021.

The Tait is actively raising funds to support our Awardees and members of the Australian Bushfire Benefit London company who have been affected by this crisis. If you fall into either of these categories please watch our website for information about applying for emergency support.

The Tait Music Board

The Tait Trustees

Guaranteed Awards 2020

Awards 2020/21ArtformDonorAward names
Lotte Betts-Dean Mezzo Soprano Eugenie White White/Loewenthal Award
Lauren FaganSopranoEugenie WhiteWhite/Loewenthal Award
Tara MintonJazz Harp/VoiceEugenie WhiteWhite/Loewenthal Award
Freddie JonesTenorEugenie WhiteWhite/Loewenthal Award
Amy HuangViolinJulian Baring FamilyTait Barings Scholar
Oliver LeeSaxophoneJulian Baring FamilyRoyal College – Tait Scholar
Alexandra FloodSopranoTaitROSL Overseas Award
Kleeman AIOABaritoneFrostJohn Frost / Frank & Viola Tait Award
RBS AU/NZ Group FundBalletTait / FrostLeanne Benjamin Award
James FisherBassoonTait Sir Charles Mackerras ChairSouthbank Sinfonia