Tait Memorial Trust

Proudly supporting young
Australian performing
artists in the UK

Founded in 1992

Principal Partner

Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Isla Baring OAM

Founding Patrons
Dame Joan Sutherland AC OM DBE
Viola, Lady Tait AM
John McCallum AO CBE
Googie Withers AO CBE

Leanne Benjamin AM OBE
John Frost AM
Julian Gavin
Patricia Countess of Harewood
Barry Humphries AO CBE
Piers Lane AO
June Mendoza AO OBE
Ermes de Zan


Qantas Airways Limited, Event Partner, The Tait Memorial Trust

Australia Day Foundation, Event Partner, The Tait Memorial Trust

Treasury Wine Estates, Event Partner, The Tait Memorial Trust

Australian Business, Event Partner, The Tait Memorial Trust

Royal Over-Seas League, Partner, The Tait Memorial Trust

Britain-Australia Society, Partner, The Tait Memorial Trust

Justin Baring
Isla Baring OAM
Shirley Barr
Anne Longden
Susie Thornton

Fay Curtin
Jan Gowrie-Smith
Caroline Hamilton
Ros Higgins
Wendy Kramer
Dr Margaret Mayston AM
Gayle McDermott
Patricia Nimmo
John Rendall
Margaret Rodgers
Ann Seddon
Jacqueline Thompson

Honorary Member
Nicola Downer AM

Executive Director
James Hancock

Registered charity 1042797

The Leanne Benjamin Awards

Save the Date

The Leanne Benjamin Awards

English National Ballet

Markova House

39 Jay Mews

London SW7 2ES

Wednesday July 2nd at 7.30pm

The Leanne Benjamin Awards

Leanne Benjamin in Emeralds as part of Jewels © Johan Persson/ROH 2007

The Tait Memorial Trust in collaboration with Leanne Benjamin OBE launched new ballet awards for young Australian dancers studying in the UK. The proceeds from the first event at The Royal Ballet School on Thursday 12th June 2014 were added to this scholarship fund. Australian students at the school including Sophie Moffatt, Josephine Frick, Kiely Groenewegen, Grace Robinson, Harry Churches, Connor Barlow (English National Ballet School) and Kenji Wilkie performed for an audience which included Lady Sainsbury and Sir Peter Wright. The evening ended with a masterclass given by Leanne Benjamin.

The first recipient, Josephine Frick, was presented with a cheque for £8,000 at a Tait Friends event at Australia House on Tuesday 14th October as a contribution to her fees at The Royal Ballet School

The Leanne Benjamin Awards

Josephine Frick, inaugural recipient of 'The Leanne Benjamin Awards'
with Tait Friend, Ms Eugenie White and Sophie Moffatt

Leanne Benjamin OBE

Born in Rockhampton, Australia, Leanne joined The Royal Ballet as a First Soloist in 1992 after dancing with Sadlerís Wells, Deutsche Oper Ballet and London Festival Ballet. She was promoted to the rank of Principal in 1993 and since then has danced all the leading classical roles as well as having a number of roles created for her by choreographers including Wayne McGregor, Christopher Wheeldon, Kim Brandstrup and Alexei Ratmansky. Excelling in the MacMillan repertory, Leanne also worked with Frederick Ashton and Ninette De Valois. She was awarded the OBE in 2005 for services to dance.

The Tait Trust wish to thank the staff and students of The Royal Ballet School and Lady Sainsbury for her support and encouragement to have made this event a reality and the lovely Leanne Benjamin for graciously agreeing to take part and to lend her name to these new ballet awards.

TMT on Twitter

Past Events

Leanne Benjamin Awards 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010
2009 2008-1992